Creative at Bannack

This week my communications class went to Montana’s Bannack Ghost Town for a field trip. My teacher gave us four different categories of things to shoot and each one will be shown on its own blog. For this post, I’m going to show you the photos I took for my Creative category. For this category, we had 5 subcategories to shoot. Those include abstract, commercial, conceptual, ghost, and levitation.

This is my abstract image. I was playing around with the different angles that I could take of this door and I liked this one the best. It’s unique to what you usually would see. I really liked this picture because I was able to get some nice details of the door as well as being able to capture the sky. I did very little edits with this because I had the right settings when I took it.

This photo is representing my commercial image. I chose this because the ax was the perfect focal point for this photo. I really like how I composed the photo to be centered around the ax and it has enough room in the photo for a logo. I only edited the saturation levels for this. I made it seem a little warmer by adding a red/orange tint to it.

This photo is for my conceptual image. The way I used depth of field helped bring out the subject. I really like the way the subject isn’t looking at the camera because it seems like he lost in his own thoughts. The only edits I did with this photo was bringing down the exposure a little bit. I didn’t want his face to be too bright because he was looking into the sun.

This photo was one of my favorites to take. It was really cool and interesting for me to learn how to do this. It took a few tries, but with the help of my classmates, I was able to get the subject to appear in two places. The only edits that I messed with were the highlights. The white parts in the photo were too bright so I had to bring them down.

This was another fun photo to capture. To photograph this I took a photo of the people standing on a bench and then taking a picture of the room. I then used photoshop to blend the photos together and make the bench disappear so it looks like they are levitating. It was really cool to figure out how it worked.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.